Ian’s third book in the series of real-time reflections through word and photo on the seasons of the year BREATHING DEEP: LIFE IN THE SPIRIT OF EASTER began as a personal journey through the Easter season. Each of these meditations and images reflects on how the great resurrection story might open up the possibility of something new in our lives. They also come with a provocative edge, challenging us to find the courage to live in the spirit of the resurrection when everything seems to gravitate towards death and destruction. The images are all from the western isles of Scotland.


Ian’s book SOME SMALL HEAVEN: SEEKING LIGHT IN WINTER began as a personal journey through Advent, Christmas and Epiphany, written in real time. Exploring a path through those festivals, Some Small Heaven seeks to discover the light within the darkness of winter – and within all our winters – to find some small heaven each day, even when life comes at us tough, hard and bleak. Ian’s images in the book are all from the coasts of Devon and Cornwall in Winter. As with its predecessor Wilderness Taunts the core of each reflection remains as it was experienced, considered and written at the time. There is darkness – and there is light!


 WILDERNESS TAUNTS: REVEALING YOUR LIGHT began as a personal journey through Lent, shared each day on Morning Bell. Ian re-imagined the temptations faced by Jesus as taunts that might throw us off balance – critical voices from external sources and from within ourselves. His experience was that when faced with honesty and openness, the truth of these taunts, however disturbing, also begins to reveal some deeper truth. In the darkness, our light is revealed…


Ian’s latest collection of poems Unfurling is on Canterbury Press, also via your local bookshop, and all usual online sources including Amazon and Book Depository  with free delivery world-wide.

These are sensual poems, elemental poems, poems of the landscape, poems of the ordinary
Pádraig Ó Tuama


Running Over Rocks AW - Version 3

Ian’s book ‘Running Over Rocks: spiritual practices to transform tough times’ imagines how we might shape lives rooted in spiritual practice. With a mix of Ian’s poems, reflections and spiritual practices, Running Over Rocks offers 52 ways to re-orient ourselves and create a better world now.

Ian Adams’ highly original and beautifully written manual of practices for living Tess Ward

Distilled, poetic, inspired and earthed Jonny Baker

The UK edition is published by Canterbury Press. It’s available to order via your local independent bookstore, and also from Blackwell’s, from  Amazon and the Book Depository, and as an ebook on Kindle.


Cave Refectory Road - Version 2

Ian’s best-selling book ‘Cave Refectory Road: monastic rhythms for contemporary living’ suggests how we might learn from the monastics and craft lives that embrace a mix of withdrawal, presence and journey.

Ian Adams has beautifully and unabashedly mined the Christian monastic tradition and found gold for our spiritually impoverished time. You can find no better guide. Nadia Bolz-Weber

The UK edition is published by Canterbury Press. It’s available to order via your local independent bookstore and also from Blackwell’s, from Amazon, the Book Depository and as an ebook on Kindle.


The US and Canada edition is published by Liturgical Press in both paperback and ebook formats.

© Beloved Life 2022

Sign up for our occasional news email here…

Post comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.